At the end of September

Donald B McFarlane
3 min readSep 26, 2022

It’s almost October, and temperatures in London are dropping, and as we get closer to the end of 2022, it means we’re much closer to the release of the 8th novel in the Earth Saga Series!

Terminal Frontier is due out in the next 60 days and will be the longest book in the Earth Saga series to date. Hopefully, people enjoy the read and find it to their liking. While I’m not sure how long book 9 will be, there is a good chance this will be the heftiest book in the series.

Along with the release of Terminal Frontier, work has been chugging along with edits on Standish 3, due out sometime in early 2023, along with getting words on the page with the 9th book in the Earth Saga series, due out in late 2023.

While I was hoping to maintain an aggressive release plan of books, I’ve decided to slow down slightly, at least for the first quarter of 2023, to allow myself to focus on other work-related issues. I’m currently sitting on three finished books: Standish 3 & 4 and a standalone title, but at the moment, I need to focus on writing the 9th book in the Earth Saga series and get some other things sorted out.

Looking past the release of the 9th Earth Saga book, I’ve mostly decided that the series will continue in Phase 2. What that means is that readers of the first 9 books could finish things up at the end of the 9th book or choose to continue reading the Phase 2 books, while other people could start the series with the 10th book.

At the same time, another Rescue book is in the works, but on pause, for the moment.

In summary, there will still be four streams going forward: Earth Saga, Standish, Rescue, and Standalone.

I’ll be using the standalone titles to add depth to the universe while filling in some backstories for some of my favourite characters. Right now, I’ve got my eye on a possible Fairlight project, along with a possible Render novel. That’s well down the line, but the possibilities are there.

On an entertainment front, I recently watched the 13 Lives film. Rather well done and worth a watch. I’ve also started the Andor series on Disney, which, so far, is by far the best product Star Wars has released recently. Hopefully, that trend will continue.

On the reading front, it’s been heavy on the military history, with two Max Hasting titles, along with a disturbing account of the US Navy SEALs.

The next few weeks will be focused on getting Standish 3 ready for the editor, punching the keys on the 9th Earth Saga novel, and getting ready to release Terminal Frontier.

Other than that, not much to report. The weather is changing. Winter is coming, and I’ve got plenty of work to busy myself with.

Until next time, stay safe out there.

--

--